Fresnel lens, tinder, and good intentions

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

chem_doc

Tenderfoot
Sep 14, 2007
Atlanta, GA
Hey all... New here and new to bushcraft. I'm fascinated by the idea of just being able to live off the land, should I need to.

Since I'm new to this, I've decided that the first area of bushcraft that I should tackle would be building a fire without matches. The wife thinks I'm insane or have suddenly become a pyromaniac, but I digress...

I've made charcloth (great stuff!) and will probably tomorrow give cotton balls/vaseline or wax a try, but, when you get down to it, I'd like to know that I could, under the right conditions, light a fire with just what I have available. Plus, if I can light a fire without the manmade tinder, then if I do have that stuff, it should be a snap.

I arrived at thisgreat plan, because I figured with fire, I could stay warm. I could make safe(r) drinking water. I could cook game/plants. I guess, thinking back to the stone age, with fire, I can get by.

My great plan was, I thought, to start with relatively easy methods and work my way up to harder ones for starting a fire. I figured I'd start with a credit card-sized fresnel lens, then the magnesium/flint starter, then a Fire Steel, and finally a bow drill.

I'm failing miserably with the first method, which isn't doing a lot for my confidence!

For now, I'm mucking around with the tinder I can find in our back yard, mostly long pine needles (dry!) and some punky oak and maple from dead branches. The pine needles go up within seconds using char cloth, but I'll be dipped if I can get it to ignite with the fresnel lens.