The Army Bercary Scheme

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

sharp88

Settler
Aug 18, 2006
Kent
Yesterday morning, during tutorials at my local college, where I'm studying plumbing, the Army's new recruitment scheme was brought up by the tutor. There are posters everywhere. Turns out, the Army is paying engineers, electrician and plumbing students £300 odd the first term, £750 the second and a £1000 for the third, in exchange for service.

Quite frankly, I was disgusted and what surprised me the most was that a fair few of my coconut headed mates put there names down for it. Doing service is fine under normal choice and circumstances, but tempting ignorent little chavs with cash bait is wrong. Im sickened by the greed of my college to sponsor this and I've already said my piece to my tutor, whom agreed with my view.

Has anyone else in college encountered this? What do you think about it?

gilly0802

Tenderfoot
what age range is your college?

it could be argued that they have been doing this for years with university burserys (i know i am just starting one with the RAF, and i "signed up" and did the selection (full OASC) for that aged 15)

and a bit of personal opinion but wouldn't service help said "little chavs" with direction and purpose? or am i just another victim of the military propaganda

verloc

Settler
Jun 2, 2008
East Lothian, Scotland
lol now it makes sense what an Army bercary scheme is, I thought I was going mad there for a moment,

Army bursary schemes are fine and I always regret not signing up as a WEO (Weapons engineer officer) in the Navy when I was at Uni, I cant remember the figures they were offering me but they were bloody good!