Putting up a tarp

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

ozzy1977

Jan 10, 2006
Henley
Hi as I am new to all this and having just got myself a tarp/basha, I was wondering how you lot go about putting it up, length or cords etc. It will mainly be used to cover a hammock when I get one from the group buy (cant wait :) ).

Cheers

Chris

lardbloke

Nomad
Jul 1, 2005
Torphichen, Scotland
I use lark foot finished with a stopper knot, to tie the guy lines to the tarp. I then use cleats for guy runners. You can tie in sliding knots but I find they dont hold as well.
I then tie the main lines from the tarp to the tree using the evenk knot (or fixed tarp knot) or use the clips (prussik knots) on the Hennessy line (or use krabs). Its all a bit of trail and error really and see what works for you.

Heres a quick look at my type of setup...

http://www.bushcraftuk.com/community/showthread.php?t=10183&page=2&pp=10&highlight=cleat

hawsome34

Tenderfoot
Sep 3, 2004
Merseyside
Alright tagnut,

Good luck with building your basha, like a few guys have said, do a search and you will find several variations on setting up a basha, height will depend on whether you are in a hammock or on the ground. Style is what you prefer or part determined by the weather.

For the lines, I use good ol' genuine para-cord. I have 4 lengths of around 13ft, and 1 of just over 20ft. Up to now in the 6 years, I've been bashrin up I've managed with these lengths with nil probs.

Trial and error, you'll find the best ones for you.

Enjoy

Alchemist

Forager
Aug 1, 2005
Hampshire
If you are new then try this as a basic setup.

2-3m of para cord on the corners and at the two end points of the apex.

Use cheap guy runners at the tarp end of the guy lines. IE loop the cord at the tarp attachment.