New firesteels

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

MickeyW

Nov 19, 2014
South Wales
Hello all,

I am new to bushcraft and am just buying the kit. I bought a firesteel from my local army surplus store today and was pretty excited to get home and make like King Louis! But what I desired (the power of mans red flower!) eluded me!

I did get a few sparks but with quite a bit of effort. Not what I was expecting from watching countless videos of the pros doing it!
I noticed that there was a dark coating over the rod which was coming off. Is this a protective coating that I need to remove first? If so, what is the best (I.e. Easiest) way to get it off.

Cheers!

Goatboy

Jan 31, 2005
Scotland
Yup, to stop them oxidising in damp conditions they have a protective coating. I've always just found that the more you use them the better they get. You could work your way 'round it with the scraper but being a mean east coast Scot I'd feel that a waste:rolleyes:. I'd just practice with it and get art of getting the sparks to land where you want them will take off some of the coating.

Try to always make sure it's dry before putting it away. Salt water especially seems to make them slightly kaput over time.

Good luck and let us all know how you get on.

ATB,
GB.

Jimmy.S.

Nov 25, 2012
Edinburgh
I agree with Goatboy, it will get easier with time and practice.
Although I have found some firesteels have less effective strikers than others, which made it quite tricky for me. I resorted to using the spine of my knife which throws a great amount of sparks.

Good luck with it, no doubt you'll find it alot easier with a little more use. AtB, Jimmy.

Corso

Aug 13, 2007
none
there were some iffy ones doing the ebay rounds as long as you got it from someone reputable I'd go with the above advice

rancid badger