Kit for a newbie

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

andy_scouser

Nov 29, 2005
Ormskirk
Hello all,

My first of hopefully many questions. Im sitting here credit card in hand itching to buy 'stuff', with only 19 days to go to my Woodsmoke Woodlander course. (im a complete novice, apart from my scouting days MANY moons ago!)

Things I still need to get are, a tent and a suitable rucksack.

Rucksack, ive got 2 vango's that I use when walking in the lakes, a 25ltr and a 35ltr. Im hoping to use both and have enough space for the weeks course.

Tent, OMG how much choice is there!! I've been drawn in by the £400 tents but im thinking a Vaude taurus 2 at the moment as I am more likely to go away with somebody rather than just by myself at present.

The thing is I need this 'stuff' for the course, but im worried I may come away from it all thinking i've bought in error.... any advice please?

Im hoping to spend some extended weekends away as I have access to a large piece of land around Bala (Wales) to play in later and there is also talk of a few week long, 80mile, backpacking/bushcraft style breaks in England this year.

Money isn't the issue, buying the right equipment is!

cheers all :D

Barblade

Dec 15, 2005
Lancashire, UK
Hi Andy
Welcome to BushcraftUk mate, from one newb to another:
Can't offer much advice on the packs or the courses but personally I'm a fan of Vaude tent's, I use the old Hogan myself and have found it extremely quick to pitch (with it shock-cord system it'll be up and guyed in a storm in less than 10 mins), more reliable than some of the other tents i've owned, though you do have to be very good friends to use it as a 2-man tent.