Identifying Mushrooms

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Tack

Tenderfoot
Feb 20, 2005
West Midlands
Hi,

Despite now having at least three books which claim to be able to identify edible fungi fro poisonous, I still struggle to tell the different species apart.

If anyone on this forum who is an "expert" on fungi, and who lives within spitting distance of the Black Country and is willing to spend a few hours walking through some woods with me there is a drink in it for them.;)

Tack

Nat

Sep 4, 2007
York, North Yorkshire
Which sort of books do you have?
I'm no expert but i've found Collins Nature Guides - Mushrooms and Toadstools of Britain and Europe has helped me with it's clear photographs and descriptions of the differing parts of toadstools and mushrooms.

addo

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Feb 8, 2006
Derbyshire
The kingfisher guides are excellent and spore prints help a lot. Im no expert and dont live local im afraid.

Tack

Tenderfoot
Feb 20, 2005
West Midlands
Hi,
Thanks for the response so far.

I have a Collins Gem "Food For Free"; The "River Cottage Handbook Of Mushrooms"; Ray Mears' "Wild Food" and "The Wild Gourmets".

I suspect my problems may stem from not knowing individual fungi when they are less than fully grown. That said I picked three different species yesterday, at least one of which was fully developed and can find no identical visual representation in any of the books. Perhaps what I need is a course?

Tack

spamel

Banned
Feb 15, 2005
Silkstone, Blighty!
Which sort of books do you have?
I'm no expert but i've found Collins Nature Guides - Mushrooms and Toadstools of Britain and Europe has helped me with it's clear photographs and descriptions of the differing parts of toadstools and mushrooms.