Getting Gear

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
M

mjk3k

im just starting out, im only 17 know most of the skills of fire starting *im not a arisnist, im a fire fighter by trade :p* i was wondering what sort of kit i should get ...

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK
MJK3K,
About the most important piece of kit you could buy is a knife - a Frosts Mora for example should only cost a few pounds, great for starting out and experienced folk alike. The rest of your gear can be improvised from many other sources so don't feel that there is a definative list of "must haves" just to call yourself a Bushcrafter, after all, the ultimate aim is to do without mass-produced equipment totally.

ATB

Ogri the trog

jamesoconnor

Nomad
Jul 19, 2005
Hamilton, lanarkshire
Ogri the trog said:
The rest of your gear can be improvised from many other sources so don't feel that there is a definative list of "must haves" just to call yourself a Bushcrafter, after all, the ultimate aim is to do without mass-produced equipment totally.

ATB

Ogri the trog

really well said!
regards
james

M

mjk3k

thanks for that guys . i know its about improvising and stuff i just wanted to know if there was gear people felt they needed to carry . i have a good knife that was given to me by my gradfather who worked in the woods i love it cuts well. i have been learning how to use it properly

thanks

Dougster

Bushcrafter through and through
Oct 13, 2005
The banks of the Deveron.
Something to keep the rain off (sleeping and walking wise)
Something to sleep in
something sharp
something to start a fire
something to carry it all in

and it doesn't have to cost the earth

build on that, that's what I did. A few uncomfortable, but memorable nights to start off with, then you can decide what's right for you.

andyn