Favourite socks?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

kingkio

Jan 19, 2014
United Kingdom
What type of socks do you use when out in the wilds and where did you get them? I am just starting out with bushcraft and don't have a large budget so the socks I have been buying have generally been for around £8-15 but they are not the greatest and one pair even acts like a cheese grater on my soles after walking a couple of miles..

Monikieman

Jun 17, 2013
Monikie, Angus
I'm in the same boat price wise re socks.

Someone posted a link to military mart .co etc and I had a look there.

They have lots of cheap sock I think one was Czech Army and £10 for 5 pairs.

Hopefully someone will be able to comment.

Dazza247guv

Jan 6, 2014
Maidenhead
A great place to keep an eye on is TK Maxx. Regularly find branded walking socks in there at knock down prices.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Macaroon

A bemused & bewildered
Jan 5, 2013
SE Wales
Save yer dosh up and get some Bridgedales, treat yer feet! I reckon these are the best socks by far for the money and they have a good range of weights, materials etc., you can sometimes get good deals on them but they run about £15 a pair. I imagine there are better socks to be had but I think you'd have to spend big to better them; mine have always served me well and I'm very fussy about what I wear on my feet.

copper_head

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Feb 22, 2006
Hull
I have found Brashers 3 or 4 season walking socks are my best by far. I love them and have a few pairs now. They keep my feet toasty and dry.

Got to agree with that. Brasher Explorers for me £15 for 2 pairs or thereabouts, I use Bridgedale Coolmax liners with them. Worth spending a little extra on keeping your feet comfortable, learnt that one the hard way :).

mr dazzler

Native
Aug 28, 2004
uk