Diy Jerry Can wood burning stove

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Barkclark

Nov 3, 2015
United Kingdom
Hi, new to this forum, so I don't know if this is the right forum / place for this, but I have just completed a diy wood burner from scrap metal I found around work etc. I work as a stonemason and this little project was an idea to heat up a little cutting shed in winter that I'll be building.

Question I have is that when I close the door on the stove (granted I know it's got gaps which I'll fix) it starts to smoke exponentially and the fire rapidly starts to die out! Do I need more air intakes underneath the fire? I have three holes already but I don't know if it's enough? I still have the jerry can spout in place, then the tin cans placed round it, which maybe isn't large enough to let the smoke escape? Should I cut the first tin to fit into the jerry can for the bigger diameter flue?

I was going to install a baffle to direct as much heat to the jerry can handles for cooking on, but I imagine installing this at this stage would make the smoking worse!

So far I have to keep the door open which is just as useful as an open fire and doesn't conserve the wood.

As I say I'm new to this and I basically haven't a clue haha. So any ideas / help would be much appreciated!
Many thanks,
Simon
638d54e09ea1b65ce408dbb7c1bd775e.jpg
50be0484e4a87c23c28dfe612581dc20.jpg
0e8e2fd3ec8efb4acef8e297c7f731dc.jpg

mick91

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
May 13, 2015
Sunderland
Definitely increase the flue diameter. Probably pay you to have more holes to draw air too, I had similar problems because I used car exhaust for the flue, switched over to 4.5inch bore and that draw will suck the slippers off your feet now!

S.C.M.

Nomad
Jul 4, 2012
Algarve, Portugal