Best kindling?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

ryemck

Sep 9, 2015
Liverpool
Hi all

I'm new to fire making, I have made just 3 fires total. First one j used a ton of dead grass and leaves as kindling, second we used cloth that I brought as there was no dead grass or leaves, semi-damp environment. Third time was stripped birch bark.

I know birch is very easy to get but can someone go through some really useful kindling tips for common UK forests or wilderness? I'll make a list and keep it here so I can keep track, and so people on search engines can find as I couldn't find anything.

- stripped birch bark
- dead grass and leaves

These are all I know so far.

Monikieman

Jun 17, 2013
Monikie, Angus
I live in Scotland and often laugh (not at you) when I here folk suggest dry grass!!!:eek:

Sounds like you're just starting off on the pyromaniacs journey so I think it would be a better idea to start with man made tinders. Cotton wool balls, vaseline etc etc.

If that doesn't float your boat a lot of naturals, I feel, are seasonal. Birch bark is great. Look in the birch trees for hung up wood that has dropped from above. Also the bottom branches of the birch tree seem to die as it grows. If they snap off with a crack that's the stuff for on top of your tinder.

Hope this helps a bit. There's loads of other man made tips if you want, feel free to ask. Cheers

mick91

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
May 13, 2015
Sunderland
Naturals. Cattail fluff, grows near water and catches a spark nicely. rosebay willowherb fluff from inside the little purple seed pod looking bits (cannot for the life of me think of the name) also takes a spark, and that grows pretty much anywhere there's a fire scar.