Woodland management tutorials

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

treelore

Nomad
Jan 4, 2008
Northamptonshire

I have noticed that a lot of people are asking about how to coppice and other woodland management tasks. So would people find it helpful if some tutorials were done and what other woodland processes would people like to see covered?

The reason I ask is that I’m a professional Arborist and woodsman and manage local estate woods and work with the Forestry Commission too and soon I will be in the woods cutting. How would you like it to be covered? Filmed, photographs or come along and get some hands on experience. The only problem I for see is twisting my partner in crime to help lol…

I throw it out to you guys to see what you think.

A forestry open day is being held in Northamptonshire at Salcey forest on Sunday 11th October, where woodland and forestry processes will be demonstrated.

all the best

TreeLore

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
Sounds good treelore :approve:
I'm old fashioned enough to like clearly written descriptions with illustrations, but I firmly suspect that anything you come up with would be appreciatively read/watched/viewed.

If you're up for organising a day ? course ? maybe speak with Tony, see what he suggests ?

cheers,
Toddy

shaggystu

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Nov 10, 2003
Derbyshire
very much so mate, not so much for myself (my time in the woods is for sitting peacefully) but SWMBT would find that kind of thing useful for college.
i'm as old fashioned as toddy, nicely written articles with good illustrations are what does it for me

thanks for this

stuart

monkey spanner

Forager
Jul 4, 2010
kent
Wow.
What a great offer.
This is the sort of thing that make's the bushcraft community such a nice place to be.