tarps

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

rg1984

Feb 24, 2007
Lockerbie
I was also wondering if anyone can recommend any certain types of tarps for camping under? I'm new to this game but really want to give it a shot in the spring/summer.

bambodoggy

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Nov 10, 2004
Surrey
www.stumpandgrind.co.uk
Matey, if you can tie it between two trees and it's keep the rain off then you can use any type of tarp you like, from a big blue builders tarp to an army basha sheet, from an over priced aussie hootchi to a 3x4m polycotton, a sheet of old canvas to a ripstop nylon poncho.... have a little go on the search function for some of the terms I've used above and no doubt there'll be a wealth of info and suggestions there for the taking. :)

Cheers,

Bam. :D

Jul 15, 2006
Nil
This bunch do a nice 3m x 3m version in British camo pattern or central european camo if you so desire. Camo is good for tarps as it helps you blend in and be less conspicuous (to humans and animals).

http://www.usmcpro.com

I've got one of their 3x3m ones and it's great. Loads of room, not too heavy and 100% waterproof.

Yeoman

Mikey P

Nov 22, 2003
Glasgow, Scotland
rg1984 said:
I was also wondering if anyone can recommend any certain types of tarps for camping under? I'm new to this game but really want to give it a shot in the spring/summer.

Go to 'Search' and type in 'tarp'. Then fill your boots!

There are loads of different types; probably the most talked about is the Australian Hootchie but these are pretty expensive. There are some much cheaper ones out there and they also do 'group buys' every now and again.

The hardest bit is learning to pitch it properly.

sxmolloy

Mar 22, 2006
lancashire, north west england