Singer needles

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Hibrion

Maker
Jan 11, 2012
Ireland
Hi guys,

I have a Singer 201k foot treadle machine from the 50s and would like to get some leather and canvas needles to give it a try. I hand sew everything at present, but it would be nice to be able to offer machine stitching to those who want it.

Could anyone recommend an online supplier of leather and canvas needles for this machine? Also, if you could suggest sizes and types as well as thread types you recommend I would greatly appreciate it.

Emdiesse

Settler
Jan 9, 2005
Surrey, UK
Hi,

I have been using 110 (18) size denim needles for sewing 15 oz canvas mostly with success - but I am a sewing machine newbie.

I bought some needles from this supplier on eBay recently and they arrived the very net day even though I didn't order before 12 o'clock - nor did I pay for first class postage!
These were 110 (18) size leather needles (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/291353630016)

I believe a size 100-110 (16-18) needle is what you are after (depending on the thickness of your fabric and weight of thread), and the leather needle will differ from the denim needle as it has a chiselled point to cut through the leather - like an awl would

For canvas you will want perhaps denim needles probably around the 110 (18) size again.

I have been using Bonded Nylon thread of a size 40s or 60s, I believe bonded nylon is the thread most people use on here for sewing canvas and leather with sewing machines.

Again, I have been using eBay for most things sewing machine because it seems to have the widest variety of options - although is a pain to find the right stuff

I bought the thread from this seller as a big spool http://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/associated_yarns

Hibrion

Maker
Jan 11, 2012
Ireland
This is great, thanks guys.