Sheath with fire-steel holder?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

climberslacker

Forager
Jan 14, 2008
USA
Hello all,

I was just wondering how you put a fire steel holder in a sheath. I am a complete newb to sheaths and am making my first knife soon. Actually any tips on the knife making (I will be following greenpete's tutorial) would be appreciated. Do you jsut attatch it to the welt but how do wou make is smooth with the rest of the sheath? Thanks muchly

jace

bushwacker bob

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Sep 22, 2003
STRANGEUS PLACEUS
I personally wouldn't bother.Once you have used the firesteel a few times it wears thinner and can fall out unless you have tied it in somehow.Firesteel holders make you look the part but the practicality of it bemuses me.I should justify this by stating that my sheath for my main 'bushcrafter' does have one and I keep a new firesteel in it but it is purely ceremonial.I keep a firesteel that I use to light fires, in my pocket where I am less likely to loose it.
To answer your question,you generally 'skive' the leather( thin it down by half its thickness) and stop the weldt each side of the firesteel tube.Then just sew through all the way along the side.
All the info you will ever require is on here.http://www.britishblades.com/forums/index.php

shep

Maker
Mar 22, 2007
Norfolk
The way I do it is to make it part of the welt.

I usually find a triple welt is needed at the handle, tapering to just a single welt for the blade part of the sheath.

This means that each end of your firesteel loop can slot in either side of the main welt and be stitched in place by the main line of stitching running down the sheath. You just need to chamfer it a little so that the progression from 3 welts to 1 is smooth with no gaps.