Rowan Jelly

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Tack

Tenderfoot
Feb 20, 2005
West Midlands
Hi,

Last year I made a batch of rowan jelly but it turned out to have too much of a sharp taste to it for my liking.

I'm looking for suggestions as to what I can add to leesen the sharpness.

As ever all help gratefully received.

Tack

copper_head

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Feb 22, 2006
Hull
Never made rowan jelly, but I am a chef. So from a culinary point of view adding sugar or honey would counteract the sharpness, not sure if this is what you were after but its my 2p's worth :D

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
Tell me you didn't *just* use Rowans :eek:

Rowan Jelly:
Per kilo (about 2lbs) of apples add one large spray of rowan berries.
Wash fruit and leave wet. Cut apples into quarters or eighths, strip the rowans off their stalks and add to the apples in either a jelly pan or a big pot. Just cover, and no more, with water and slowly simmer the whole thing until the fruit is mushy.
Strain.
This really matters if you want jewel like clarity in your jelly. Strain thoroughly through a jelly bag or layers of muslin. Allow to hang until the juice stops dripping. Do not squeeze.
If you don't mind cloudy, just strain through a fine sieve.

To the juice add in proportion, 1ltr of juice needs a little less than a kg of sugar, and it can manage with quite a lot less if needed, say 800g. That's a pint to a pound for the imperialists.