Mini-Kuksa

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Two Socks

Settler
Jan 27, 2011
Norway
I have carved a small kuksa that I plan to use for whisky when out and about. It was mainly a try-out for a bigger one that I want to carve. I think that for a larger one I might want to use embers for the hollow, because my Mora-spoonknives leave a mess behind at some angles. Here are some pictures of the WIP and the finished product. All comments welcome.

IMAG0311.jpg

IMAG0312.jpg

The finished product:
IMAG0315.jpg

IMAG0316.jpg

IMAG0317.jpg

So, now I need to oil it with something that doesn`t make my whisky taste funny. I have sunflowerseed-oil, would that work?

Androo

Nomad
Dec 8, 2010
NW UK
Great little kuksa.

I have no wide experience on different oils, but I do know that if you use walnut oil, it will eventually polymerise - leaving a hard, non-tainting barrier. Really not sure on sunflower.

Two Socks

Settler
Jan 27, 2011
Norway
Thanks guys :)

I am not sure about the wood really. I picked up a branch from a pile in a park here. I think it might be chestnut but it could be something else as well. I still have a piece I could take pictures of if desired.

So, that walnut oil is the stuff you`d find in a supermarket? I don`t know Tesco, I think we don`t have them on this side of the water.

Androo

Nomad
Dec 8, 2010
NW UK
So, that walnut oil is the stuff you`d find in a supermarket? I don`t know Tesco, I think we don`t have them on this side of the water.

Tesco don't need any more custom, although give 'em a few more years...