How do warm blooded people cope

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Pattree

Jul 19, 2023
UK
Caribou is very slippery. Not good if you are on a slope. Also, it sheds hair more than sheep or alpaca hide. I can’t afford it myself so can’t answer for warmth.

Reactions: Ozmundo

ged

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jul 16, 2009
In the woods if possible.
When I first started out on motorcycles I had a WWII flying jacket handed down by my dad, don't know where he got it from but he was a miner in the war, not a flyer. It was lined with sheepskin and it was really, really warm for my first couple of months on the bike (I started riding on the roads in Derbyshire in February 1969, when there was six inches of snow everywhere) but it was terrible if it got wet. It stank, and it took ages to dry. One weekend I went to a party a couple of miles from my home and when it was time to leave I found that somebody had stolen it. Never saw it again. I replaced it with a police mac from the army surplus, I think it cost ten shillings. It was absolutely waterproof and what it lacked in insulation I could compensate for with another jumper or two.

Last time I saw JonathanD of this parish he had a reindeer pelt with him. Only time I've ever touched anything reindeer. It was absolutely gorgeous, it made me want to run my fingers over it all night. Like my German shepherd cross only more so. I could tell how warm it would have kept the animal when it was wearing it.

But it must have been a small one, it wasn't anything like big enough to wrap around me, and I'm on the skinny side.