Horsechestnut soap recipie?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

RAPPLEBY2000

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Dec 2, 2003
England
Hi i thought i'd try my hand at making some horsechestnut soap with conkers i'm told it's traditional and easy but i can't find any links to such a recipie.

can anyone help? ;)

eraaij

Settler
Feb 18, 2004
Arnhem
We just use the leaves. Take a buch of them, make a ball and crunch it with some water. The will free the saponin. Works like a dream. I have no experience with other parts of the tree for soap.

-Emile

RAPPLEBY2000

Dec 2, 2003
England
That's the soap i am familiar with, i also use it, ;) though i've heard that you can make a half decent bar of soap from it, knowing how to is the problem at hand. :(

crazydave

Settler
Aug 25, 2006
Gloucester
I'm not aware that the conker has the sapolin in it. it might be possible to get a lot of leaves dry and powder or just even bruise them - steep in hot water, filter and reduce to make a liquid soap.

worth a try if nothing else.

Ralph

Forager
Oct 31, 2005
lost
I've actually got a recipe somewhere for this, I believe the vikings used this soap. I don't have it here but I think it goes something like; shell the conkers, soak them in water for a few hours, leave them in the sun to dry, use. I will try to find the recipe somewhere.

redcollective

Settler
Dec 31, 2004
West Yorkshire
From the Wikipedia entry: