CMEs, Carrington events, and the need for scientific approach...

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

horsevad

Tenderfoot
Oct 22, 2009
Denmark
I was reading the "locked" thread about the possibility of a CME causing widespread collapse on earth.

I totally understand why the moderators choose to cloase such thread, as the relevance for bushcraft is rather low.

However, as a teacher, I weekly sees the results of teenagers who have read some wild pseudo-scientific predictions on the internet, and have become rather scared. And I do not like children being scared. Especially for totally unnecessary things.

On this basis, I found it appropriate to actually explain - with verifiable and rational arguments - why the "collapse" predicted in the forementioned thread is a quite wrongful conclusion.

In 1859 the world expirienced a Carrington Event. The only such event recorded in the time of written history. It was caused by a magnetic disturbance on the surface of the sun (called a sunspot), which, on its collapse, created a quite large explosion. This explosion threw large amount of charged particles in the direction of earth. The Van Allen belt - the Earths magnetic field - does a great job of deflecting such charged particle radiation, so no humans were harmed, but observant individuals were threated to a splendid display of auroras. However, humans were beginning to string telegraph wires between cities and countries, and some of these wires were damaged. As Orsted proved - moving a electrical conductor in a magnetic field creates electricity - possibily much more electricity than the circuit were designed for.

So the theory goes that with the amount of electric distribution wires and electric circuits were have in our normal western society such an event would bring the western society to a standstill.