Clothing Help

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Wannabe

Aug 19, 2005
Oxfordshire
Hi all,

New to Bushcrafting so please be gentle with me.....

Firstly, I'd just like to say what a great forum ! Been trawling the Kit Chat pages for advice and it's been really useful to have so many opinions that agree - has enabled me to actually make some decisions !

What I really need help with is clothing ! There seems to be so much out there and I'd guess that a lot of it is personal choice but for 2/3 season wear in the UK is there anything that you'd absolutely recommend or avoid for outer layer ? both trousers and jacket.

Thanks for you help.

nomade

Need to contact Admin...
Sep 8, 2004
Sutton (Surrey, UK)
I am relatively new to bushcrafting myself.

My experience of knowing what to wear has been a long one though...first I looked at all kinds of survival and outdoors books to see what they were saying. There are thermal "rules" they advise you to stick to, like the one on wearing layers etc. There is advice on what to use or what to avoid, etc

Some of it differs from one book to the next.

I gave it a lot of thought. My financial means were too limited to just go one afternoon into one of the outdoors shops like those on Kensington High Street in London and buy everything I "needed". So I bought all these things in the course of time, from various shops, taking a long time, progressively building up an equipment. .

I talked to everyone who knew anything related to the subject including the staff of outdoors shops who were often young backpackers from Australia, South Africa or Canada with impressive outdoors credentials. This way I also completed the knowledge I had from books.

And last but not least :) personal EXPERIENCE!

All this kit has to be used for you to find out how it is going to work for you.