Bushcraft knives for beginners!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Hello everyone, this is my first post on here and will be the first of many!

I'm new to bushcraft, I love the outdoors and I'm extremely interested in learning as much survival skills as possible. I tend not to use forums to learn so this is very strange to me but I thought I'd give it a go! :)

I know a knife is probably one of the most important pieces of equipment you need in surviving, so my question to the experienced is, what knife would you recommend to a beginner? And what other bits of advice can you suggest with learning how to use the knife safely.

Please keep price in mind :).

Kristian

Big Stu 12

Bushcrafter through and through
Jan 7, 2012
Ipswich
A good starting place is a mora clipper.. or something like it... well liked in bushcraft, cheap, does what its designed to do, many longterm bushcrafters still use them even if they got a nice damascus one.. :)

santaman2000

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Jan 15, 2011
Florida
Same advise I always give; Buck 110. Beginner, advanced, bushcraft, hunter, fishermen, or as a work knife.

ammo

Settler
Sep 7, 2013
by the beach
Hello mate. Try YouTube.I put some plastic down and practice at home or the garden, once I've got it, i try to go put it into practice in the woods with the elements against me.

Hibrion

Maker
Jan 11, 2012
Ireland
Get a stainless mora companion to begin with, it is a little less maintenance than the carbon version and will do everything you need. You should start by looking at the various grips used in knife skills (youtube will help you here). After that, try making basic things that will come in handy: feathering a stick, make a tent peg, make a pot hanger.

maddave

Jan 2, 2004
Manchester UK
Brilliant starter knife for a fiver.......