Bivvy Bags

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

tomtom

Dec 9, 2003
Sunny South Devon
im told that the ones RAB do are good.. but i have no experience and i think you have to have one of their sleeping bags for it to fit!

Great Pebble

Settler
Jan 10, 2004
Belfast, Northern Ireland
I heartily approve of the older green issue British ones.
The newer DPM one is supposed to be good also, although I've heard reports that the breathable fabric is not as good quality as the older type. The new ones are marginally larger though.

bambodoggy

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Nov 10, 2004
Surrey
www.stumpandgrind.co.uk
Hey,
I've served in the UK armed forces and used the older style OG Bivvie bag, they are a very good bit of kit indeed and can be used without a tarp cover if needed, they do rip but you have to try pretty hard (I've slept onj rocks and stone floors of Bothi's without damage), you can pick them up dead cheap on Ebay and they are well worth the money.
Hope that helps :)
Phil.

hootchi

Settler
I was also wondering about the arctic/royal marine bags. they are not breathable, nylon/PVC so do they sweat, but they are quater of the price.

nows a good time for bivvy bags on ebay coz who wants to go bivving in the rain. except us!!

bambodoggy

Nov 10, 2004
Surrey
www.stumpandgrind.co.uk
Lol.....only used the old arctic ones once and that was once to often, they may perform better when actually in the arctic but I used mine on Hankley common in May and was as wet as I would have been sleeping in my shower at home!

Stick to the OG Gortex ones from ebay, you should get one for about £20.

Lets hope we get some proper cold weather this winter!!! Happy camping everyone!

Phil.

Adi007

Sep 3, 2003
hootchi said: