Bio mass boiler

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

woof

Apr 12, 2008
lincolnshire
Does anyone have one or got experience of them ?, if so how does it compere to running your previous boiler ?.

I'm told that there is currently a government scheme for those who live in none gas areas & want to replace a oil or lpg system, with a bio mass boiler.

Rob

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK
I have limited experience of them in commercial premises, and from a little research for domestic applications.

Up until a few years ago, the fuel source for domestic boilers was wood pellets made in Scandinavia and shipped over, hardly an ecological practice. The price and availability of the pellets was volatile - and so really only suited the committed user.

It is something that I will be looking into again, in the hope that some of my former fears have been addressed, so fingers crossed.

For now, I will be staying with my oil fired boiler, which is becoming expensive, but is manageable for now!

ATB

Ogri the trog

allrightscud

Tenderfoot
Feb 13, 2013
Central Belt, Scotland
You get the same grant for a gassiess wood boiler. and you get paid per therm output as well. It takes less room although it does need a 1000l to 3000l tank of water depending on the size of your house. It needs manually filled once or twice per day with logs. I'm looking into this at the moment and running it in tandam with my oil. I have more than enough logs to keep me going for the payback.

Turnip

Sep 28, 2010
Radnorshire