Alpkit
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: This is weird

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    keswick
    Posts
    224

    Default This is weird

    I just put http://www.breakawaysurvivalschool.co.uk/ in my toolbar and it goes to some other website or course, does anyone know if they have wrapped it up or changed something? :?:

    Chris

  2. #2

    Default Re: This is weird

    What site do you get instead?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cardiff
    Posts
    2,263

    Default Re: This is weird

    I've never heard of it im afriad :?:
    ... getting involved again ...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    4,082

    Default Re: This is weird

    Do you mean this one: http://www.breakawaysurvival.co.uk/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    keswick
    Posts
    224

    Default Re: This is weird

    Stew
    If you click on the link you get might get what I'm getting, something called the outdoor world survival school, certainly not Breakaway Survival School.

    I thought it was a spoof at first because IMO it is not well presented.

    Thanks Adi, that's what I wanted, I was thinking of doing another weekend there as I enjoyed the "crack" lastime, it was a good laugh.

    What's this link about then, can someone use another companies name as a website address? Looks like it.

    Anyway, thanks everyone. :super:

    Chris

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Cornwall
    Posts
    63

    Default Re: This is weird

    Maybe one is stealing the others website link or something. I dont know all the computer gargon but it would seem like an attempt to steal customers. That said I have never heard of either so what would be the point?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    4,082

    Default Re: This is weird

    The www.breakawaysurvival.co.uk URL has been active since Dec 1999 while www.breakawaysurvivalschool.co.uk was registered in Now 2002. There is a similarity in the names but that's life on the web.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    keswick
    Posts
    224

    Default Re: This is weird

    Thanks Adi, that's wierd.

    I've never heard of the Outdoor world survival school before although after checking Tony's BCUK schools link page it's on there.

    To me it looks a bit sinister, as white buffaloe suggests, even an atempt to redirect potential customers, although that is just my opinion from what I see.
    Just seems not right. :?:

    But, as you say Adi, that's the internet for you.

    Chris

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Dorset & France
    Posts
    1,190

    Default Re: This is weird

    Quote Originally Posted by Adi007
    The www.breakawaysurvival.co.uk URL has been active since Dec 1999 while www.breakawaysurvivalschool.co.uk was registered in Now 2002. There is a similarity in the names but that's life on the web.
    I suspect that the domain has just lapsed after not being renewed or they forgot to renew it but you should get automated renewals so it happens less frequently now because checking with whois.nic.uk (which covers .co.uk domains). I got this:

    Domain Name:
    breakawaysurvivalschool.co.uk

    Relevant Dates:
    Registered on: 26-Jan-2004
    Renewal Date: 26-Jan-2006
    Last updated: 16-Aug-2004
    So if Adi is right on the original registration it seems likely the domains just became available and was taken up and is now web forwarding to the other site. I suspect that breakaway survival could do something if they wanted to as they are a trading company already using that name for a specific purpose. Depends a bit on whether they are a registered company and have any sort of trade name registration etc. But as Adi said it happens all too often. It could have easily been a sleazy pron site

    :roll:
    Simon

    "He who would travel happily must travel light." - Antoine de Saint-Exupery. French aviator & author 1900 - 1944

  10. #10

    Default Re: This is weird

    just had a look at the site "breakawaysurvivalschool", its run it would appear by a bloke called jeff, who as it happens used to be a friend of/ instructor with mick tyler at breakawaysurvival. i seem to recall that they had a parting of the ways several years ago now. i had a check and there also appears to be a picture of jan (2 meters) the dutchman.
    sc
    never send for whom the bell tolls, it tolls for thee.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •