I'm new to these parts...

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

red devil

Forager
Dec 1, 2010
South of Glasgow
Hi everyone,
Thought I'd make my first post on this excellent forum a proper introduction.
I've been hanging around reading stuff for weeks before finally registering - there's some fascinating info from some very knowledgeable people on these pages.
As a newcomer to bushcraft I'm not sure I'm going to be much use to anyone for quite some time, but I hope to contribute as and when I can.
A few quick details about me: I'm 48, married with ten-year-old twins and work in the newspaper industry.
I've worked in newspaper offices for nearly thirty years, so getting out into the great outdoors is the perfect antidote to my working life.
Earlier this year I started fly-fishing for the first time - mainly on stillwaters for trout - and I'm absolutely hooked, if you'll pardon the pun.
I've also started going on long walks again in search of flora and fauna (with my handy Collins guides and binocs in the pocket of my backpack).
Many years ago, pre-married life, I was a serious hillwalker/wild camper, largely in the Lake District and North Wales, but that all changed once the kids came along.
I now live on the southside of Glasgow and am eager to get back outdoors as often as possible.
I'm a big Ray Mears fan but don't really enjoy Bear Grylls-style adventurin' - I'm a bit suspicious of just how realistic his escapades are.
I much prefer RM's more culturally-focused programmes, where he meets with/learns from various indigenous peoples. Fascinating stuff.
Anyway, I'm rambling a bit now so I'll finish off by mentioning the areas of interest I'm planning on focusing my (limited) spare time on:
Fishing
Woodland walks and crafts
Leatherworking
I'm not particularly handy with tools but I'm eager to listen and learn.