Cross country skiing

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Quixoticgeek

Aug 4, 2013
Europe
For a long time I've wanted to learn to cross country ski, I think reading Ranulph's books as a kid may be to blame.

Living in Kent, the opportunities to learn locally are not exactly thick on the ground, so I am going to have to save up to travel somewhere to learn. Given this is likely to take a while to save up for, it seems now is a good time to start planning it.

Can anyone recommend a course in cross country skiing? Ideally within 24 hours train journey from London, which pretty much covers Southern Norway, Southern Sweden, Germany, The Alps, even Northern Italy. Quality of teaching and instructor teacher ratio are important governing factors in choice here, more so than price.

Note, I have no experience of downhill skiing.

Any suggestions?

J

Last edited:

Rich D

Forager
Jan 2, 2014
Nottingham
Probably the wrong end of the season, but Snow Sport England have lot's of courses/events listed for roller skiing, which even the Olympians use when there's no snow about. Could be a good way to learn until the start of next snow season http://www.snowsportengland.org.uk/cross-country-events
I did a good circuit around Cauterets (French Pyrenees) on a "rest" day from climbing a few years back, good trails and cheaper than the alps, combined with a traditional French town and the trails around Pont d'Espagne are in a truly stunning setting. But I'm more into being lifted up mountains and skiing down them to be honest, so feel free to take my advice with a pinch of salt.
Rich

We have fantastic cross country skiing here a bit south of Munich...
(Google Jachenau)

Hop on the plane to Munich.... endless schools, rental and stunning landscapes...