Teach me about netting?!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

tombear

On a new journey
Jul 9, 2004
Rossendale, Lancashire
Only having ever planted out quite large herb seedlings so being functionally a pretty complete novice how do you go about stopping all the seedlings herself has on the window sills being eaten by birds, slugs, tribbles etc as soon as we plant them out?

For the Anglo Saxon stuff we are going organic.

So short of taking a child out of school and arming him with a sling and a taste for French food I'm thinking we need some netting of some sort. What's the most cost effective sort and what needs protecting and what doesn't ?

ATB

Tom

wingstoo

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
May 12, 2005
South Marches
I built some hooped covers using electricians conduit piping and then covered them with chicken wire, but any netting will be OK as long as it is small enough to stop birds getting in.

I have a huge roll of Scaffold netting I bought that I might be using this year, 3mtrs wide and 25mtrs long, tighter weave but still netting, and also provides shade to stop scorching young seedlings.

Macaroon

A bemused & bewildered
Jan 5, 2013
SE Wales
+1 for the scaffold netting; cheap, lightweight, very strong and durable and easy to use..........

British Red

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Dec 30, 2005
Mercia
Depends what you need protection from Tom

I stole Wingstoo's conduit idea and adapted it to suit my needs and my standardised beds

I built a load of standardised goalposts

Bent conduit over them

I use three types of net - scaffolding net - which keeps all insects off - use this to stop (for example) white butterflies decimating your brassicas

Wide mesh that keeps (for example) pigeons off peas but lets small birds and insects through