Day Out Speedwell and Buttercups

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Wander

Native
Jan 6, 2017
Here There & Everywhere
Below me was the Len valley and on the purple horizon is the Greensand Ridge.

I was up high on the North Downs and sitting amidst a copse of aspen trees making myself a mug of earl grey. The grass was long and soft, a chill north-westerly blowing straight up the pent and quivering the aspen leaves. The ground was dotted with clumps of blue speedwell, blushing the hoath. Out across the slopes there were patches of yellow and other blues and purples.

Then I had an idea.

I thought I would use my day ranging across the downs to see how many different wild flowers I could find and identify.

Firstly, I must say, I am no expert. I can identify a few wild plants. And I’ve picked up knowledge of a few more. And I have a wild plant/flower app on my phone to help me fill the gaps.

Gainfully I strode down a cleft that falls between two pinches, along a cattle track. The day previous it had rained and hailed, but that had been sharp and brief and it had all dried now. If not exactly dusty.

I passed several dead rabbits, eviscerated and still fresh. Not together, mind you. They had obviously been buzzard kills, and there was a pair circling and pewing high in the sky. As I approached one of the corpses I saw a large rat having a nibble and then scarpered off into the undergrowth. Almost immediately a crow swooped down and took up the feast, completely nonplussed when I passed by just a few feet away. Whilst up above me, standing on a fence post, was a male kestrel.