Free oak galls, natural wood stain and Easter eggs

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Cyclingrelf

Mod
Mod
Jul 15, 2005
Penzance, Cornwall
I am currently carving a spoon shaped as a snake wrapped around a stick

attachment.php

I'd like to stain the stick and the snake's eyes a darker colour. I tried painting them with coffee and tea, but that washed out...does anyone know any natural wood stains and how to apply them?

Thanks!

Susannah

Harvestman

Bushcrafter through and through
May 11, 2007
Pontypool, Wales, Uk
You could try walnut juice - that famously stains dark, and has a reputation for not coming out. I've no experience of it though. I've got some old walnuts that I intend soaking to see if I can get a stain out of them as soon as I have something to dye.

Cyclingrelf

Mod
Mod
Jul 15, 2005
Penzance, Cornwall
I forgot to say that - I tried crushing some old walnut shells and boiling them up, but just got dark looking water that didn't stain. I think you need the fresh green husks to get the really dark dye?

nuggets

Native
Jan 31, 2010
england
me grannie used to use onion skins to dye -white eggs -brown !!! Not sure if it would work on wood ?? Give it go !!

John Fenna

Lifetime Member & Maker
Oct 7, 2006
Pembrokeshire
Crushed Oak Galls mixed with rust and vinegar make a fairly robust dark brown. Add Gum Arabic or pine resin to thicken. I all needs a bit of reducing on a low heat to meld the resin etc and to "reduce" the mix.
If you need Galls I have loads around here :)

John Fenna

Lifetime Member & Maker
Oct 7, 2006
Pembrokeshire
We used to do that at Easter - wax resist a pattern on the shell of a white egg (draw it on with a candle instead of a pencil) then boil the eggs in a pan of water and onion skins
Ta Da!
Patterned eggs for Easter!

Cyclingrelf

Mod
Mod
Jul 15, 2005
Penzance, Cornwall