a bodged ray mears knife.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

jamin

Forager
Nov 27, 2006
lincoln
www.piczo.com
hi, i have been asked by my freind to sharpen his ray mears knife. it looks in quite bad shape and that he has had a go at sharpening it before. the bevle is fine on it but looks lie there is like a micro bevle been put on it. i have been trying to get this out of it on my wet stone but it dosnt seamto be doing much. is there anything i could do to get it back right. i dont want to do anything drastic due to the price of the thing. or should i stick to the stone. cheers. ben

Totumpole

Native
Jan 16, 2011
Cairns, Australia
WHen he rubs it up his car window, that putting a micro bevel on it. Ben, maybe your friend just took the micro bevel too far.

I'm no expert so not sure how best to sort it. I did experiment with some Mora's and just hammer on with a course grit, then work down. Apparently clippers come with a secondary bevel and Ive got one I ground down to a pure scandy and one I kept a secondary bevel on, they are much of a suchness TBH. If you are using water stones and are struggling, then rather than invest in a courser set of water stones go for some courser wet/dry paper glued to a bit of wood - if you care for your knives often you will use it less often. Inow rarely go back tot he stone with my regular users, a strop keeps them in good order if used frequenly.

Hope that helps and I'm not just a rambling drunk Scot! :)

robevs73

Maker
Sep 17, 2008
llanelli
Keep it flat, woodlore is a zero Scandi grind not a micro bevel. If in doubt send it to someone who knows what they are doing.

Woodcutter2

Forager
Jul 31, 2011
Conyer, Kent
www.tpknives.com