gear

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
  1. A

Choosing a compass....

Hi everyone, Have been doing some reading on navigation and looking to get some practice in, hence I am currently looking to purchase a compass. I was going to get a Silva Expedition 4 as they are highly recommended but it would appear that place of manufactor is no longer in Sweden and some...
  2. A

British Military Bivvy vs Snugpak Special Forces

Hi all, first post here so feel free to let me know if i'm doing anything wrong :) Currently looking to get a bivvy bag as I am looking to do part of the Welsh Costal Path soon and would like to travel without a tent to experience something new and keep the weight down. My options include...
  3. I

Rate my overnight gear

Hello, This is my first time posting here. I’m an Irish expat in New York and am active on the BushcraftUSA forum too. I’m trying to get a sense of what to bring out for an overnight as spring approaches. Where I am in New York, temperatures are usually in the high 30s to low 50s in Winter into...
  4. J

Any thoughts on this axe from mil-tec?

Hi there I recently bought this axe from mil-tec and so far have been ok with its performance but somewhat disappointed with the cover and the handle. I cant find any reviews anywhere and so I was wondering if I might've accidentally bought a shitty product (in terms of long-term durability...
  5. L

What gear would you take with you thread and why.

Hi all, I did a quick search to see if there was any threads like this but did not find any. I'll start off as this, My ruck sack is an amazon basics rucksack i think it is 65 litres and i plan to attach two 20 litre dry bags one on each side since i can attach the dry bags on this rucksack...
  6. RAPPLEBY2000

2 Handy books for making your own outdoor equipment