Flour to stop bleeding??

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

whitey3192

Forager
Oct 23, 2010
North yorkshire
Ive been told today that flour, cornflour and talc can all stop bleeding, as an alternative to a 'kwikclot' type substance. was just wondering if anyone had heard this also and if there is any truth in it?

Gotte

Nomad
Oct 9, 2010
Here and there
I can see how it would work. I imagine unperfumed talc would be better being non-organic. i would worry on larger cuts about introducing something organic. But what do I know, I'm a photographer.

whitey3192

Forager
Oct 23, 2010
North yorkshire
do yo9u know if kwik clot is legal in the uk?

cant find anything about it on google

was just wondering if anyone could prove this theory

Last edited:

hoppinmad

Forager
Dec 7, 2009
Swansea Valley
Hi
just finished a wilderness first aid course two weeks ago and quick clot was mentioned for major bleeding..apparently paramedics in london and the south coast are now using
quick clot or celox...if you do use it get the first reponse stuff..it is enclosed in a type of large tea type bag..does not get as hot as the old stuff..and cannot blow into your eyes..some a & e staff may not be aware of it so fastern the package near the wound..to indicate that it has been used
Hope this helps
regards stu

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
Flour's for very minor burns and scalds according to Miragi who's a chef.

I wouldn't recommend adding anything into a wound. Cover and if necessary apply pressure.

What goes in has to come out.

I thought kwik clot was not considered suitable for civilian use. We live and learn.

cheers,
Toddy

The Big Lebowski

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 11, 2010
Sunny Wales!