Tenkara Fishing

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Ruvio

Nomad
i was lucky enough to try it in japan.
you don't need any fancy rods, the guy that taught me literally used a bamboo pole, regular fly fishing line, and special flies.
i was told it was all about the flies, not the rod

i like fishing like this when i'm out a wanderin, coz you dont need to carry much

Barn Owl

Old Age Punk
Apr 10, 2007
Ayrshire
This looks really interesting, I'd love to try it. I'm a newbie though, how easy is it to learn? I've never done any sort of fly fishing at all

It's really not difficult.

BUT I would take a lesson from a good fisher with good technique so that you don't get bad habits forming.

Seems the same as 'Daddy dapping' to me to,I've also mucked about with very short lines close into the bank.

Wouldn't mind one of the rods though,haven't wet a line for a good couple of years.

myotis

Apr 28, 2008
Somerset, UK.
Bit of an old thread but thought I might add a little to it. I haven't fished for 20 years but I have been smitten with the idea of Tenkara fishing. Indeed without realising it I used to follow a Tenkara type philosophy when I did fish (even though I used a reel). However to the point.

I have just bought one of these http://www.sourcingmap.com/super-portable-telescoping-sections-fishing-rod-pole-p-48882.html

It came in under a week, and its super portable and seems well made. People on the Tenkara forums have used similar rods and suggested they are usable, but without much enthusiasm for them.

I also bought a proper Tenkara leader from http://www.custom-furles.com/Leader_Types.html, which cost more than the rod !!

Only had a bash on the lawn so far and it was obvious that the rod is far too stiff for the proper tenkara leader (which is the entire line).