Volunteers Needed

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

rancid badger

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
This is a call to arms ( and legs etc) to anyone in the North of England or dare I hope; Southern Scotland, who might fancy putting in some time, doing a bit of digging and some live willow, fencing work.

As some of you already know; I am involved, along with Eric Methven and Ken Jackson, with the local conservation group; Friends of Chopwell Wood, we do all sorts of maintenance work within the woodland, along with education and recreation activities. My own field is, of course; bush/traditional craft related and I have been running events here, for 5 years now, for both the Friends and the Forestry Commission.

Due to various safety restrictions, we are normally confined to using a designated area for our fire lighting skills sets/events. This is not a major drawback, as it is located far enough away from buildings, that it offers great scope for use as an outdoor classroom/training area.
This is the area at the moment:
P9190001copyresized15.jpg

It looks quite large but could do with opening out a bit and of course the fence will make a massive difference
P9190005copyresizrd12.jpg

If you can imagine say 15 people, trying to find space, to practice fire lighting in 5 teams of 3......well it can get a bit cramped:D

I want to enlarge the footprint of the firelighting "arena" somewhat, as well as planting a living willow windbreak fence to both shield the area from prevailing wind and screen it from the mountain bike track across the clearing.

So you get to do some digging as well as willow weaving:D
All materials and tools are provided, all you need is a packed lunch and your brew kit.