Graphene - distilling and more...

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
Sounds like it might prove to be incredibly useful in many industries, and if it can be used to produce potable water, then it could be one of the most useful materials ever made :D

Thanks for the link; interesting :approve:

cheers,
Toddy

NetFrog

Forager
Jul 17, 2011
Scotland
I think maybe it has uses for industrial purposes, e.g water purification or yes making more potent vodka. However developing a kit to bring with you in the field may prove tricky as currently you need some rather expensive equipment to create the molecule thin layers needed to make it all work.

I'm no scientist but I have read a few articles about it and it is not looking likely that it can be used in anything outside of laboratory conditions for the moment and as for a out of the pocket solution, I fear not. :-(

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
Maybe, maybe.......but look how fast things move nowadays once production is up and running :)

No doubt we'll see.

cheers,
Toddy

Rod Paradise

Oct 16, 2008
Upper Nithsdale, Dumfriesshire
Give it ten years and you'd be able to buy milbank bags made from it, I bet you a pound to a pinch of dog do.

The biggest scientific step is proving something possible, things move in leaps and bounds from there. So I think you might just be right, hopefully the patent holders won't make them out of reach to those who will no doubt still need them.

palmnut

Forager
Aug 1, 2006
N51° W002°
I've been separating alcohol from water for years!

Mostly on a Friday or Saturday night ;-)

Sorry ... couldn't resist ;-)

Peter

TeeDee

Nov 6, 2008
Exeter
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-16747208